Posts Tagged ‘ Smooth Jazz ’

Rocco & Rahj – Blue Burn

Rocco & Rahj is the duo of keyboardist John ‘Rocco’ Altamura and guitarist Roger ‘Rahj’ Keay… a musical collaboration that has been over 40 years in the making. Along with extensive recording and performance experience in blues, jazz, rock, soul, R & B, funk and ambient musical styles, both are also accomplished song writers, producers and audio engineers, having worked with a multitude of world class artists both live and in the studio. No doubt inspired by their NYC roots and enjoying a present day Florida beach lifestyle, it is this combined formula that has evolved their captivating sound and distinctive style into an original musical sub-genre which they have dubbed “Beach Jazz”.

Blue Burn is available for download at CDBaby.

Vincent Ingala – Echoes Of The Heart

Connecticut-born saxophonist and multi-instrumentalist Vincent Ingala has already released five albums: North End Soul (2010), Can’t Stop Now (2012), Coast To Coast (2015)  Christmas (2016) and Personal Touch (2018), produced on the prestigious label Shanachie Entertainment. He now continues on this label with Echoes of the Heart (2020).

Vincent performs on the album besides his sax various other instruments. He is joined on selected tracks by Dan Hendrix (trombone), Chris Geith (acoustic piano, keyboards and synth programming), DW3 (background vocals), Sam Sims (bass guitar), David Benoit (acoustic piano), Pat Lennon (trumpet), and Steve Oliver (nylon string guitar).

Caught Me by Surprise is the aptly titled beginner of the album. After numerous performances, it is certain that Vincent is a crafty entertainer who quickly captivates his audience. This ability is also reflected in his music, which absolutely has that certain something that is often missing in the music of other musicians.

Read more …

Threestyle – Let the music play

#1 Billboard Band Threestyle presents a smooth soulful EP Let the music play . Starting with the first single – a soulful version of Smokey Robinson’s classic “Cruisin” featuring a stellar constellation with multi-platinum Fattburger’s legendary virtuoso Steve Laury on lead guitar, Robert Fertl on lead guitar, back vocals and production, Magdalena Chovancova on sax, flute and backing vocals, George Duke’s drummer Rayford Griffin, Billy Preston’s bassist James L. Manning, K-Ci & JoJo’s Keyboarder Chris Troy, Magdalena Fertl on chimes, Gabriela Chovancova and Nikita Konrad on percussion.

Buy this EP at CDBaby.

Key J Kev – Drive Time

Washington DC native with roots extending back to the early Go Go era… Producer by trade, and Musician at heart. Musical influences includes: Jazz, Big Band, R&B/Hip Hop, Gospel, and Neo-Soul… Born G. Kevin Eley and, rebirth to Key J Kev CEO of BigKey Productions.

Drive Time is the compilation of Key J Kev’s body of work dating from 2013 thru 2019. Over an hour smooth driving music, to make long trips exciting and jamming! You find this compilation available for download only at CDBaby.

Tony Saunders – Sexy Somethin’

Tony Saunders, two-time Emmy Award winning bassist, composer, producer and son of legendary Bay Area keyboardist Merl Saunders, is back romancing the bass with his fourth release on San Francisco Records. Saunders’ new album Sexy Somethin’ yields a crop of fantastic new songs and collaborations with some of the biggest names in contemporary jazz. Guest appearances include guitarists Nils, Paul Jackson, Jr. and Paul Brown, keyboardists Jeff Lorber and Ray Chew and saxophonists Marion Meadows and Jeff Ryan. The first single Rock Steady, a groovy, funked up spin through The Whispers’ ’80s R&B smash hit, has been shooting up the charts with Saunders’ lively lead bass melody and flashes of old school synth. The album also features 13 original compositions in Saunders’ signature smooth, sexy, romantic and funky style. This is one you don’t want to miss!

Get the album on

Special EFX – All Stars

Special EFX was originally founded by drummer and percussionist George Jinda and guitarist Chieli Minucci in 1982. The musical concept of the group changed from world fusion to contemporary jazz and smooth jazz. After the 22nd Special EFX album Deep As The Night (2017), released on the Trippin ‘N’ Rhythm record label the group returns with the new album All Stars (2020) on the same label.

The new album features Chieli Minucci on guitars, keyboards, beats, accompanied by Steve Adelson (Chapman Stick), Joel Rosenblatt, Lionel Cordew (drums), Jerry Brooks, Gerald Veasley  (bass), Fernando Saunders (fretless bass), David Mann (saxophone, flute, horn arrangements),  Nelson Rangell (saxophone, flute), Eric Marienthal (saxophone), Jay Rowe, Lao Tizer (acoustic grand piano, keyboards), Maysa Leak (vocals), Regina Carter, Antoine Silverman (violin), Lin Rountree, Tatum Greenblatt (trumpet, flugelhorn), Mino Cinélu (percussion), and Mike Davis (trombone).

The music was composed, produced and arranged by Chieli Minucci except Little Wing, composed by Jimi Hendrix. The album is opened with Mr. Marzipan. Although marzipan in itself is a sweet and soft substrate, this piece is characterized by a tight horn arrangement into which Chieli pushes his guitar staccato-like.

Read more …

Will Sumner – Ride The Wave

Will Sumner, originally from Minneapolis, is probably best known for his 1980 classic surf jazz album Tropic Zone. It was a natural fit for him to relocate to Southern California a few decades back, where he has continued to release a string of Smooth Jazz albums that always include his tropical and surf nuances. A virtuoso on guitar, piano, and violin, he lays down dense, complex jazz tracks with such ease and finesse without ever sounding like he’s showing off or over-flexing his music chops. Will Sumner is a musician’s musician. Ride The Wave is his latest.

Get this album on