Posts Tagged ‘ Contemporary Jazz ’

Soul Brass Band – Levels

Drummer Derrick Freeman leads the Soul Brass Band, founded in 2015. Initiated by a video project of contemporary rhythm and blues artist CeeLo Green the idea was to assemble some friends of the music scene. So drummer Freeman, bass player Aron Lambert, trumpeter Leon “Kid Chocolate” Brown, trombonists Michael Watson and Terrance Taplin, saxophonist James Martin, guitarist Danny Abel and tuba player Steve Glenn found together. Though the Soul Brass Band is well-versed in traditional music its stage shows are more eclectic, as it turns not only to material from fellow brass bands like the Dirty Dozen and Rebirth but also funks it up. Listen for tunes that range from old-school artists like Sly and the Family Stone and the Jackson 5 to hip-hop stars Snoop Dogg and Juvenile.

“The versatility is there to do that,” Freeman proclaims. “We’ll do some traditional songs in the set and just mix it up and mess with people’s heads a little—reel people in and shock ‘em. Expect to be wowed.” Levels is their new album which spreads the legend of New Orleans Jazz in the style of Trombone Shorty.

Get it at CDBaby.


Luca Di Luzio – Globetrotter

Jazz guitarist Luca Di Luzio has concentrated his musical activities so far on his native Italy. This changes fundamentally with his new project Globetrotter (2019).

The title is program and the list of musicians involved is more than illustrious. Beside Jimmy Haslip, as producer and bass player, are performing Dave Weckl on drums, George Whitty on keyboards and Max Ionata on tenor saxophone.

The album contains six originals and two traditional standards. The album has biographical traits, as all six pieces written by Luca refer to periods of his life that have left their mark on him.

Read more …

The Allen Carman Project – Carmanology

South Jersey born bassist Allen Carman started his professional music life with the band Renegade, but then put music on hold to become a lawyer. After more than twenty years law practice he returned to his musical roots.

With his new founded band The Allen Carman Project featuring Phillippe Saisse on keyboards, Gumbi Ortiz on percussion, Andy Snitzer on sax and Luis Alicea on drums he is ready to storm the charts.

The debut album is entitled Carmanology, and includes eight original songs and one cover. The group comes up with an incredible star cast of guest musicians as there are guitarists Nile Rogers, Marc Antoine, trumpet players Rick Braun, Don Harris, saxophonists Andy Snitzer, Bill Harris, trombonist Michael Davis and violinist Evan Garr.

Read more …

Phil Madeira – Crickets

A Nashville mainstay, Phil Madeira was Americana before it was a thing. His venerable pedigree as a singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, producer and arranger is assured, backed by Grammy-winning credits and a lengthy discography boasting collaborations with Garth Brooks, Emmylou Harris, The Civil Wars, Elvis Costello, Alison Krauss, Toby Keith, Amy Grant, Mavis Staples, Keb Mo’, Bruce Hornsby and Vanessa Williams. Yet when this musician’s musician sits at the piano backstage or at home, it’s jazz-blues riffs that he noodles. On April 26, Mercyland Records will release Madeira’s first instrumental album, “Crickets,” comprised of ten new songs that he wrote and produced for a jazz quintet.

The straight-ahead jazz rhythms and bluesy harmonies Madeira scripted for “Crickets” harken back to another jazz era.

“It’s slightly sophisticated blues, right out of the 50s and 60s playbook. I can hear bits and pieces of what turned me on as a kid – Ramsey Lewis and Herbie Hancock, and of course, Monk, whom I later discovered. I composed the music that became ‘Crickets’ thinking I would pitch it to a music licensing company for use in film. But then I realized that I had created something far more personal,” said Madeira, who recorded all ten songs in one day accompanied by Aaron Smith (drums), James Hollihan (guitar), Rahsaan Barber (saxophone) and Chris Donohue (bass). Continue reading

Eugen Botos Finally – Final Definition

Slovakia based jazz funk trio Finally was founded by Eugen Botos (piano) – leader and composer of the band, Robert Vizvari (bass guitar), Martin Koleda (guitar). In 2008 the trio became the touring band of Eric Marienthal in Europe which gave them some contact with the American contemporary jazz scene. In 2010 they released their debut album My Space.

Final Definition is their sophomore album, which was released in Japan in 2016 and this year in the rest of the world. The album features an incredible variety of top musicians. Among them are famous singers like Brian McKnight, Maysa Leak, Dionne Warwick, Angela Johnson, Sheldon Reynolds, sax player Eric Marienthal, drummers Dave Weckl, Eric Valentine, Oscar Seaton and Ronald Brunner Jr., bass players Marcus Miller and Victor Wooten, keyboardist Jeff Lorber and many more.

Marcus Miller introduces into the theme of Love For Real with his sonorous sounding bass. Featured singer is Sheldon Reynolds, the former singer and guitarist of the groups Sun, The Commodores and Earth, Wind and Fire. The song also offers prominent solos by Marcus Miller and Jeff Lorber on Rhodes.

Read more …

Thom Rotella – Story Line

The title of guitarist Thom Rotella’s new CD Story Line is apt indeed, as it reflects his approach in both composition and playing. As talented and experienced a player as he is, Rotella is, above all, a musician who tells stories. It’s never just about technical prowess with flashy pyrotechnics, but more about communication with audiences and fellow musicians. On this CD the incredible lineup of musicians is Bob Sheppard: bass clarinet; Tierney Sutton: vocals, Mitchel Forman: Rhodes; Nick Mancini: vibraphone; Trey Henry: bass; Jimmy Branly: drums; Dan Higgins:bass clarinet;

Rotella presents a beautiful mix of jazz and popular chestnuts and striking originals. With a carefully chosen group of musicians, the group offers appealing and gorgeously atmospheric versions of; the Beatles’ “Come Together”; Thelonious Monk’s“ ’Round Midnight”; Wes Montgomery’s “Four On Six”; Duke Pearson’s “Cristo Redentor”; the standards “When I Fall In Love” and “Besame Mucho”; and Rotella’s soulful and lovely originals – “Oddball”, “Monkey Bizness”, “Storyline”, “Dawn is Here”,”Nuze Bluze” and “Take It With You.” All of these tunes defy category except the one important one – they all make for terrific music and rewarding listening.

Thom Rotella has been a vital musician for many years with experience as a best-selling recording artist, an in-demand player for film and television. Above all he’s been a creative performing jazz musician, whose talents have led him to work with Stanley Turrentine, Tom Scott, Gerald Albright, Plas Johnson and musicians as diverse as Frank Sinatra, Luciano Pavarotti, Cher, Donna Summer, Norah Jones and many, many others. All this great history beautifully informs this special new recording. Continue reading

Eugen Botos Finally – Final Definition

Eugen Botos Finally are a trio of outstanding Slovak musicians, comprising of keyboardist, composer and multi-instrumentalist Eugen Botos, bass guitarist Robert Vizvari and guitarist Martin Koleda playing under the name Finally.

Their album Final Definition, however crosses miles away from their homeland and features a host of well known artists such as Marcus Miller, Victor Wooten, Dave Weckl, Eric Marienthal, Jeff Lorber and Maysa Leak amongst others. Final Definition is a recording full of original compositions delivering an excellent blend of fusion, jazz and soul to the listener. Eugen Botos Finally will be a name that will stay in your memory banks and Final Definition will most definitely be an album that you will play on repeat.

Get the album on CDBaby.