Posts Tagged ‘ Mike Levine ’

Mike Levine – From The Heart

South Florida based composer and pianist Mike Levine is according to his biography since 1981 a composer. He wrote for radio and television shows, commercial jingles and for numerous other musicians. Mike was engaged with the Ross-Levine Band. After that he was comfortable being a side man for several years but always continued writing.

Finally he made the first step to his solo career and released From The Heart in 2006. With the exception of one song Mike has written all tracks. He performs on this album piano or e-piano. He is joined by Hiram Bullock, Dan Warner (guitar), Lee Levin (drums), Richard Bravo (congas), Tony Concepcion, Jason Carder (trumpets), Dana Teboe (trombone), Julio Hernandez, Rafael Valencia, Nick Orta (bass), Mike Scaglioni, Ed Calle (sax), Dana Paul (vocals). Camillo Valencia creates the horn arrangement and Gary Lindsey the string arrangement on one track each.

Rarely do I like a piece of music after the first bars. Headin Home is such an exceptional example. Melody, rhythm and the horn arrangement are highly infectious and equally inspiring. From the Heart is another sonic treasure of the melody man, who tells melodies and doesn’t just play them.

Read more …

Mike Levine – Thinking Of You

Miami based composer and pianist Mike Levine never understood music as art for art’s sake, but as an interpersonal link and communicative element. Unlike many other musicians who spend their time as multi-instrumentalists in their own studios, Mike seeks contact with his fellow musicians.

So his second album Thinking Of You (2011) also features many musical companions. To mention are Will Lee, Julio Hernandez, Rafael Valencia, Nick Orta (bass), Ed Calle, Ed Maina (sax), Billy Ross (flute), Lee Levin, Sam Levine (drums), Dan Warner, Lindsey Blair, Aaron Lebos (guitar), Richard Bravo, Carlomagno Araya, Nelson “Flaco” Padron (percussion), Wendy Pedersen (vocals), Dana Teboe (trombone), Jeff Kievet (trumpet), Tony Concepcion (fluegel horn), Gary Lindsey (strings arrangement), and Miami Symphonic – Strings Concert Master – Alfredo Oliva.

With the exception of two covers Mike has written all songs. Gettin Ready opens the album with astonishing freshness. Top-notch musicians let the song groove. Walking Tall is an energetic piece with a lot of horn power in the style of Tom Scott or Greg Adams.

Read more …

Mike Levine – Star Gazing

Pianist Mike Levine gained excellent reputation in the international world of music. He took his first musical steps together with saxophonist Billy Ross, with whom he founded the Ross-Levine Band. The albums That Summer Something (1981) and Humidity (1981) originate from this time.

Numerous cooperation followed with the pianist, who is well networked in the music world. Not until 2006 Mike decided to release his first solo album From The Heart. 2011 followed Thinking Of You and 2017 Star Gazing.

On the latest album Mike is accompanied by a selected group of professional musicians as there are Will Lee (bass), Lee Levin, Sam Levine (drums), Richard Bravo (percussion), Dan Warner, Lindsey Blair (guitar), Ed Calle, Andy Snitzer, Ed Maina, Billy Ross, Tom McCormick, Mike Brignola (sax), Lenard Rutledge, Jackson King (vocals), Jeff Kievit (trumpet), Dante Luciani, Dana Teboe (trombone), and Camillo Valencia (horn arrangement).

Read more …

Mike Levine – Star Gazing

Based in the Sunshine State, Jazz pianist Mike Levine has developed a reputation as a solid player, producer, and composer on the Miami scene. With a career that stretches back to the early 80’s, the University of Miami alumnus made his record debut in 1981 as co-leader of The Ross-Levine Band, a project upon which Pat Metheny was a guest artist. The effort drew national attention and remained in the top ten of the AC-Jazz Chart for six weeks. The subsequent effort also fared well and paved the band’s way as an opening act for such highly regarded performers as Michael Franks, Gato Barbieri, and Dionne Warwick.

For 17 years, Mike played in the house band for “Sabado Gigante”, a top TV Show seen around the world by millions as well as “Don Francisco Presenta”, a popular talk show. As a composer, his compositions have landed both in movies such as “Expendables” and “Admission” as well as TV shows including Star Search, George Lopez, Four Weddings, Coronation Street, and Beverly Hills Chihuahua both in the U.S. and Internationally. From The Heart, Mikes debut CD, featured special guests Hiram Bullock and Ed Calle. His second CD, Thinking Of You, was released March 12, 2012. Along with South Florida finest, Mikes special guests were Will Lee, Ed Calle and Billy Ross.

Star Gazing is comprised of 12 originals tracks plus a cover of Wes Montgomery’s “Road Song”. The overall sound combines Smooth Jazz, R&B, and Latin in a organic fusion. The band on “Star Gazing” includes, special guests Andy Snitzer on tenor sax, veteran bassist Will Lee and Ed Calle on soprano sax along with the hottest and finest musicians in the South Florida area.

Fresh served at CDBaby.

Mike Levine – Thinking of You

Thinking of You is Jazz Pianist Mike Levine‘s second CD as a solo artist. It features as special guests, Bassist – Will Lee, Ed Calle and Ed Maina – Sax’s and Billy Ross on Flutes. The music is an Organic Blend of Smooth Jazz. Drawing from his Jazz roots and influences of South Florida, this CD is made up of thirteen tracks eleven of which are Mike’s originals. The music itself is melodic, rhythmic, and accessible to the listener. Backed up by top session players Lee Levin on Drums, Dan Warner -Guitars, Julio Hernandez – Bass, and Richard Bravo on Percussion.

Other musicians lending their talents are:Wendy Pedersen on Vocals, Lindsey Blair and Aaron Lebos – Guitars, Nick Orta and Rafael Valencia – Bass, Sam Levine – Drums, Flaco Padron and Carlomagno Araya – Percussion, Dana Teboe – Trombone, Jeff Kievet – Trumpet, Tony Concepcion – Flugel Horn, and The Miami Symphonic Strings.

More about this album and the oppurtinty to buy it, do you find at CDBaby.