Ed Spargo – Too Much TV

Ed Spargo named his debut album Invisible Man. That was Ed’s way of describing the role he’s performed for much of the past 20 years — invisible, but not inaudible, supporting some of the brightest New England-based blues, jazz and roots stars. Ed’s supple bass playing has been a vital part of the music of Toni Lynn Washington, Johnny A, Greg Piccolo, Michelle Willson, Bruce Katz, Julien Kasper and many others.

Now some albums later he presents Too Much TV, an upbeat mix of smooth contemporary Jazz featuring some of Boston’s finest players. Listen to his new album at CDBaby.

Tet-Quart – Silencio

Two years after coming together, the members of Tet-Quart went to the studio to record their first CD. The result, released in late 2010, is Silencio (Low Man Productions), an ambient selection of mostly original titles.

The quartet is comprised of Teo Gomez, piano and keyboards; Carlos Franco, drums and percussion; Arturo Mora, electric bass; and Alex Cid, tenor saxophone.

The songs are deceptively tranquil. Most begin softly, slowly, setting the listener up for something laid-back – relaxing. That mood doesn’t last long. Even though the sound is relatively quiet, it’s energetic and moderate to fast-paced.

Read more …

Robert Boogie Bowles – The Best of Boogie

Robert “Boogie” Bowles may not be a household name but many of the songs he’s played on are. His guitar licks and grooves are heard on countless hit records. Ever hear the intro to “I Will Survive”? That’s just one of the memorable songs that showcase Boogie’s talents. He’s arranged and performed on a vast array of popular songs over the years. “If I Can’t Have You” and “Heaven Must Be Missing an Angel” are two more examples you might recognize.

Although Boogie feels blessed to have been involved in so many hit recordings, he’s most proud of his work on the classic ballad, “Reunited,” sung by Peaches and Herb. The haunting sound of harmonics heard in this popular song was said to represent the first effort of its kind on an R&B hit. His career has spanned performances from local nightclubs to the top concert venues in the world. He’s performed on numerous television shows and radio, as well as in music videos and even in the movie, “The Last Holiday.”

Today, Boogie tours with the legendary Smokey Robinson. On his latest CD, The Best of Boogie, the seasoned guitarist presents a compilation of songs he’s recorded over the span of his career, including selections with a live rhythm section and others that feature only acoustic guitars. Boogie also debuts his vocals on the upbeat track, “Life Mates.” This collection showcases the musician’s writing, performing, and arranging talents.

The Best of Boogie is now on sale at CDBaby.

Patti Austin – Sound Advice

Harlem, New York born and Grammy awarded singer Patti Austin was graced by tremendous success in her solo career. Especially during the 80’s she had her most prolific hit making period. She worked with legends like Michael Jackson (Off The Wall), George Benson (Moody’s Mood for Love), Luther Vandross (I’m Gonna Miss You In The Morning), Johnny Mathis (You Who Brought Me Love) or James Ingram (Baby, Come to Me).

She recorded seventeen studio albums. Her newest one is Sound Advice, which will be released this year at Shanachie Entertainment. “Superlatives just don’t tell the story. Sure she’s an amazing singer, but it’s the depth of feeling in Patti’s heart and soul that she expresses through her music – that’s what the whole world loves about Patti Austin,” says Danny Weiss, VP Jazz A&R for Shanachie Entertainment.

For additional information about this brilliant album read the notes below. When British pop and soul singer Des’ree released You Gotta Be in 1994, she never expected that this infectious song would have been so well received. Patti Austin soon recognized the potential of this song and presented it as her contribution to the 2003 album Church – Songs of Soul and Inspiration. Powered by the Fire Choir her rendition is a firework of Gospel music.

Read more …

Calvin Brooks – My Favorite Thing

Music standing the test of time,the recording started in Detroit, has now spread across the world. Jazzy vocals, instrumentals, beautiful love songs. Music with a meaning, haunting melodies, feel good music for everyone. Especially the title song My Favorite Thing featuring Hari Paris was often played at radio stations around Chicago.

Calvin’s love of music and his undeniable talent garnered him a “gig” with Martha Reeves and the Vandellas of Motown fame. For fifteen years he toured the world and shared the stage with the premiere entertainers of the 1970’, 80’s and 90’s fine tuning his vocal skills and becoming a virtuoso on the guitar.

Calvin’s influences are many, however Wes Montgomery, Grant Green and George Benson top the list. In 2003 Jeff Popp met Calvin Brooks and after finding they had similar experiences and a unwavering love of music they became an impressive duo. Showcasing their vocal and instrumental skills they cover the sounds of Motown as well as the jazz standards to great reviews.

A devoted family man, Calvin decided to “come off the road” and in 1999 he along with his wife Cheryl and their sons relocated to Las Vegas. He has become a mainstay on the “Strip” ever since. Calvin along with Jeff Popp can be seen Sunday through Wednesday nights from 5:30pm – 10:30pm at the Range Steakhouse Lounge inside Harrah’s Hotel Casino. Their reviews have been excellent.

My Favorite Thing is now available at CDBaby.

Monika Herzig – Come with Me

Pianist Monika Herzig Invites You on a Journey with New CD/DVD Release Come with Me.

February 1, 2011 / Indianapolis, IN

Pianist Monika Herzig will present her second Owl Studios release entitled Come with Me in March 2011. The CD/DVD combo reflects a unique partnership between musicians, the Owl Studios label and award-winning documentary filmmaker Susanne Schwibs. The journey comes to life with a 30-minute documentary that includes a variety of visuals, concert footage, and interviews, as well as special features of live performances. In addition the package includes a full-length CD with originals as well as unique arrangements of standards.

“I have the mud of Germany on my shoes”, bassist/ guitarist Peter Kienle proclaimed at the Arts Center in Jasper, IN as he was getting ready to perform a concert with wife/ pianist Monika Herzig and Indiana poet laureate Norbert Krapf. The couple had just returned from a concert tour of Italy and Germany and Peter’s shoes were still caked with mud after he got lost during a walk in the woods.

Being that nearly everyone from Jasper, Indiana (a town rich in culture from the early days of German immigration) probably at some point had mud from Germany on their shoes, the audience was delighted with the invitation for a journey through poetry and music. Continue reading

Various Artists – Jazz of Music City…1

When the conversation turns to music in “Music City” country music dominates the conversation. This CD was produced to demonstrate the fine, high quality jazz in Nashville Tennessee. Some of the nation’s finest jazz musicians live and play in Nashville. Once you experience the exotic feel of “I Wanna Fall in Love Forever,” or the rapture of “Winter” and the pulsations of the other tracks you will now understand the real scope of music in “Music City.” Radio stations, students, professionals love this CD. You will too. The wonderful music you will be exposed to promises that disappointment is NOT an option. (Peter Woolfolk, Executive Producer)

A compilation of the wide range and great jazz produced by exceptionally talented musicians in Nashville–Music City–Tennessee. This is music you will want to share with friends, family and anyone who enjoys great music. The music does not disappoint.

Jazz of Music City…1 is now on sale at CDBaby.