Bobby Lyle – Ivory Flow

IvoryFlowjpgLegendary pianist/organist Bobby Lyle was deemed a musical wonder when he released his first album, The Genie, which exploded onto the Billboard charts and blew the minds of jazz enthusiasts everywhere. Since that debut, Lyle has kept a high standard for 30-plus years, and has successfully maintain a flourishing, always evolving career. As a pianist, composer, recording artist (with product on Capitol Jazz, Atlantic Jazz, Three Keys, Heads Up, and now New Warrior Music), musical director, music publisher, and music educator, Bobby Lyle’s presence, whether on stage or on his recordings, has always been bigger than life. Lyle’s unrivaled high standard of excellence entitles him to a place on the throne alongside other musical royalty, making him a permanent fixture in the prodigious society of jazz.

Bobby travels with his own band, teaches and mentor jazz piano students, both privately and in seminars and clinics. He “adopted” Walker Elementary School by establishing a program, where needy, but exceptional students could receive band instruments to use for the school year. Bobby has become an integral part of the Houston, Texas, music scene as a performer and educator; and was awarded a “Bobby Lyle Day” plaque by mayor Anise Parker in 2012. The following year, he released his first Hammond B-3 organ project, The Way I Feel, a tribute to Jimmy Smith and Wes Montgomery. The CD was released on his label New Warrior Music. In 2014, Lyle, in association with smooth jazz radio personality Guy Michaels, launched Houston’s first ever TV Jazz Show called The J-Spot. Taped in front of a live audience, The J-Spot is a prominent showcase for the wealth of musical talent in the Houston area, and features recording artists as well. Bobby is the host and performers occasionally as a guest performer. Bobby Lyle continues to perform with his piano bands and organ trio, impressing jazz lovers around the world!

With Lyle’s new CD Ivory Flow (2021), he has released the single, “Living in the Flow,” which has already received massive of airplay and a ton of attention with a cast of iconic musicians. Check out this list of guest artists — Kerry Wilkens on guitar, Vincent Gross on trumpet, Nate Phillips on bass, Jay Williams on drums, Stanley Clarke on bass; Sonny Emory on drums, Lenny Castro on percussion, Tatiana Mayfield vocals, Rick Braun on trumpet, Brian Bromberg on bass; Gerald Albright on sax, and Kirk Whalum on sax, Marcus Miller on bass, Andre Hayward on trombone; Everette Harp on sax, Kyle Turner in sax, Ken Mondshine on sax, Jon Calderon on guitar, Andre Venson vocals, Paul Jackson Jr. on guitar, Billy Kilson on drums, Nathan East on bass, and Vinnie Colaiuta on drums; Marion Meadows on sax, John Patitucci on bass. With that musical firepower, this is a must-have CD.

Buy the album here.

Comments are closed.
%d bloggers like this: