Archive for June 25th, 2020

Boney James – Solid

Saxophonist Boney James has released with Solid (2020) his seventeenth album as a leader. In free thought Boney links the term with his personal relationship, the groove, and also the relationship to his fans.

Boney James does not see himself as a one-man-producer and on his new album he has also recorded and processed impulses of his band members and musician friends.

Boney performs on the new album tenor sax, alto sax, soprano sax, flute, electric piano, keyboards, and drum programming. Additional musicians are Kendall Gilder (guitar), Carnell Harrell (acoustic piano, organ, keyboards), Michael Stever (flugelhorn, trumpet), Alex Al (bass), Omari Williams (drums), Lenny Castro (percussion), Smitty Smith (bass), Paul Jackson Jr. (guitar), Darrell Smith (piano, key bass, Moog, keyboards), Christian Frazier aka BeatsMadebyFresh (piano, drum programming, Jairus Mozee (guitar, bass, keyboards, drum programming, Kenny Lattimore (vocals) and Jason Morales, Drak-Kar V Wesley (background vocals).

Read more …