Archive for January 7th, 2019

Michael Lington – Silver Lining

Denmark born saxophonist Michael Lington is a constant deliverer to the smooth jazz scene. Starting with his self-titled album in 1997 he continued with Vivid (2002), Everything Must Change (2002), Stay With Me (2004), A Song For You (2006), Heat (2008), Pure (2012), Soul Appeal (2014) Second Nature (2016) and Silver Lining (2018).

Michael Lington produced and composed the album together with keyboardist Barry Eastmond. Michael also attaches great importance to capturing the live atmosphere by inviting the participating musicians to record together in the studio.

In addition to Lington’s alto sax and Eastmond’s keys on all tracks, the musicians include Paul Jackson Jr. and Ray Parker Jr. on guitars, Freddie Washington and Alex Al on bass, Teddy Campbell on drums, Lenny Castro on percussion, and some other musicians like Jack Ashford on tambourine. The horns are arranged by Lester Snell and Barry Eastmond.

Read more …