Clint Holmes – Rendezvous

Singer-songwriter Clint Holmes reminisces about his youth, recalling the times he spent Sunday afternoons with his father at the Colored Musicians Club of Buffalo. That captures the essence of the title song to Rendezvous (LL Music, 2017).

A little historical context is needed to understand the venue’s name. Through the 1960s and into the ’70s, “colored” was the common term for African Americans, or black people, in the United States. Holmes’ father was black, and his mother white.

“I was 12, and it was a true coming of age moment for me,” Holmes says. “I had never seen my dad in this world. He worked three jobs and never seemed happy until I saw him in this element. I fell in love with jazz and how cool it felt to interact with those ‘cats’ the way my dad did.”

Read more …

Comments are closed.
