Archive for May, 2016

Jack Magnet – Global Warming

GlobalWarmingJakob Frímann Magnússon (born 4 May 1953) is an Icelandic composer, keyboard player, film director and producer. In Iceland he is best known as the keyboardist and one of the founders of the multiartistic band Stuðmenn, with which he has so far produced 15 albums from 1975 – 2014. After releasing several jazz albums he will now release his first smooth jazz album under the aka name Jack Magnet.

Driven by a warm, sophisticated approach to old school soul-jazz but with fresh, contemporary grooves and melodic invention, Global Warming, veteran composer and keyboardist Jack Magnet’s Woodward Avenue Records debut, is the urban jazz community’s powerful introduction to Iceland’s foremost musical icon and one of the most renowned Fender Rhodes players in the world. The album is scheduled for release June 17, 2016. Pre-order your copy at

Greg Ware – Just Love Everybody

Just Love EverybodyThis album contains songs featured in the science-fiction novel Just Love Everybody and has legendary players like Byron Miller, Kenneth Crouch, Trevor Lawrence Jr. and Robert Kyle! It also features the smooth vocal styling of Toni Peete and RobJon. Booming 808’s and soaring saxophones dancing with melodic guitar lines creating the perfect setting for romance.

Just Love Everybody offers smooth grooves with sweet vocals and outstanding live musicians, sewn together with soaring saxophones and stellar guitar work now at CDBaby.

Sofia Ribeiro – Mar Sonoro

Sofia Ribeiro brings an element of international collaboration with Mar Sonoro (2016). The Portuguese vocalist mixes jazz with Brazilian sounds and music from her native country.

The musicians are Juan Andres Ospina of Colombia on piano; Petros Kamplanis of Greece on double bass; and Marcelo Woloski of Argenita on percussion. Guests on this date are Arooj Aftab, voice on “Vai Ficar Tudo Bem”; Maeve Gilchrist, harp on “Vai Ficar Tudo Bem”; Itai Kriss, flute on “Tela”; Emily Eagen, whistle on “O Amor, Quando se Revela”; Yoed Nir, cello on “Midnight Dreams”; and the strings on “Mar Sonoro,” “Vai Ficar Tudo Bem” and “Menina de Olhos Verdes”: Maria Im and Megan Gould, first violins; Gokce Erem and Christiana Liberis, second violins; Lev “Ljova” Zhurbin and Irina Momchilova, violas; and Maria Jeffers and Sam Quiggins, cellos.

The opening track, “O Amor, Quando se Revela,” is a tranquil ballad. Subtle accompaniment supports Ribeiro’s voice. Each musician makes a mark without distracting from or overpowering the lead. For her part, Ribeiro soothes, calms and charms.

Read more …