Konstantin Klashtorni – Smooth Jazz II

Konstantin Klashtorni was performing strongly in the contemporary jazz scene. What brought the turn around to smooth jazz? Konstantin explains: “ My tastes have changed with time, although first saxophonists records I ever heard were David Sanborn and Eric Marienthal, and only after that I went studying Cannonball Adderley and Charlie Parker.

However I always liked that light jazz, in the style of Spyro Gyra and Mezzoforte. The reason I changed the direction was because I moved to Europe, where Chill out, Electronica and Lounge are much more heard then Smooth Jazz. I liked it so much, that I started to use this very elements in my music too in order to not to compete with Americans playing straight Smooth Jazz (it’s their music, and they do it FENOMENAL) and to enrich this genre, maybe to give this genre another direction, who knows?

I believe I managed in some way to do that. I noticed that many musicians are making music for people as if those all were musicians too, I try to make music for normal people well within SJ genre.″ Klashtorni released in 2011 his second album of the Smooth Jazz series. This time he was joined by Wolf Martini on guitars.

Read more …

Comments are closed.
