Archive for March, 2015

Sunny – Kind of Smooth

Kind of SmoothComposer trumpeter Sunny presents his blend of light jazz with pop, rock, and classical influences. Featured performers include Bill Fowler on guitar, Thom Terisi on piano, Gia Ciambotti on vocals and a classical Malaguena performed on piano by Diana Fleskes. Jay Kelsey and Brad Dutz round out the lineup on bass and percussion.

Get some Spanish enhanced smooth jazz at CDBaby.

Charlie H Russell – Confessions in Blue

Confessions in BlueSongwriter / Producer Charlie Russell, with infectious melodies and inventive arrangements, a radio friendly and artistically intriguing smooth jazz feel will go alone ways towards establishing his sound. There are moments of cool soulful grooves, with hip rides in jazz improvisation, and the ripping funk bass, Sax and Horn lines are both the hot and cool. His keyboard work will make you feel so good, that he will shock you with his electrically charged guitar solos.

Charlie Russell is a self-taught musician / songwriter / arranger / producer; his recordings are intentionally melodic, giving you this highly enjoyable first look. His album Confessions in Blue is just arrived at CDBaby.

Lawson Rollins – Traveler

Acoustic guitar and Latin jazz, that embodies Lawson Rollins. His solo albums Infinita (2008), Espirito (2010), Elevation (2011) and Full Circle (2013) are all about this instrument. His new album Traveler (2015) makes no difference.

Grammy-winning violinists Mads Tolling and Charlie Bisharat, Randy Tico (bass), Dave Bryant (drums & percussion) and Cameron Stone (cello) form the core of the creative team. Big Bad Voodoo Daddy members Scotty Morris, Joshua Levy and Karl Hunter drop into the recording as brass addition.

Rollins radiates with the first song Traveler so much happiness, that one is immediately infected by this joy of life. Traveling is fun, while making music the greatest. In the full Rollins spills over on Barcelona Express. A virtuoso of the Spanish guitar, he thrilled with his fire. The French Savoir Vivre is reflected at Cafe Paris.

Read more …

Ted Kooshian – Clowns Will Be Arriving

Ted Kooshian doesn’t clown around. Or does he? The pianist, known for his imaginative adaptations lets loose with the big noses, funny hair and wide shoes with Clowns Will Be Arriving (Summit Records, 2015), an exciting collection of five original songs and remakes of television show themes composed by Hugo Montenegro, Lalo Schifrin, Johnny Williams and more.

Kooshian uses a variable lineup of players to help him take this trip through time. Jeff Lederer appears on all but one track, playing flute, soprano sax or tenor sax. Others who appear here and here are Pete McGuinness, trombone; Wilbur Bascomb electric bass; David Stillman, drums and percussion; Matt Jodrell, trumpet; Scott Neumann, drums; Tom Hubbard, bass; Warren Odze, drums and percussion; Napoleon Murphy Brock, vocals on “Christmas Day, My Favorite Day”; Morrie Louden, bass; Cliff Lyons, alto sax; and Paul Livant, rhythm guitar.

“I Dream of Jeannie” kicks things off. Lederer’s flute takes point. Bascomb’s dynamic bass line gives this track extra depth. The congas add a tropical vibe. For his part, Kooshian tickles the ivory like there’s no proverbial tomorrow. McGuinness gets his licks in while there’s time. The song ends with a series of creative, tightly syncopated phrases.

Read more …

Camera Soul – Dress Code

Dress CodeCamera Soul is a powerful jazz-funk ensemble, produced by Mr. Marco Rossi of Azzurra Music (Verona) and released in the Americas by Kathryn Ballard Shut of TIMKAT Entertainment (Denver, Colorado). Inspired by legendary horn line, soul, R&B, and jazz-fusion artists such as Earth, Wind and Fire, The Commodores, Tower of Power, and Stevie Wonder, as well as neo-soul grooves by Erykah Badu and Jamiroquai, the group is based out of southern Italy (Bari), and led by veteran composer-arranger brothers Piero and Pippo Lombardo.

Camera Soul’s distinctive sound is further defined by the smoky and soulful voice of lead vocalist, Serena Brancale on the group’s first two albums (2011-2013), and Maria Enrica Lotesoriere (2014).

The group features a world-class lineup of studio and live performance musicians, including Pippo Lombardo (piano), Beppe Sequestro (bass), Francesco Palmitessa (lead guitar), Gianluca Cardellicchio (rhythm guitar), Liviana Ferri (percussion), Mimmo Campanale (drums, 2011-2013), Daniele Scannapieco and Bruno Tassone (saxes), Gianfranco Campagnoli (trumpet and flugelhorn), and Piero Dotti (background vocals). On Not For Ordinary People, the Brothers Lombardo also led a stellar global songwriting team. Together with their compositions, they also welcomed original music and lyrics from Serena Brancale and Denver-based jazz pianist and ASCAP composer, Kathryn Ballard Shut.

The group has released third albums – Words Don’t Speak (2011) and Not For Ordinary People (2013). Whereas Words Don’t Speak reached previous critical acclaim as a “chill” or “smooth” effort, Not For Ordinary People counts on powerful horn lines, deep funk, complex arranging, impassioned writing, and superb engineering, culminating in a stronger effort than the debut. Their newest album is entitled Dress Code and available now. For more information read this.

Kirk Whalum – Gospel According to Jazz Chapter 4

ATJ4Kirk Whalum‘s new album The Gospel According to Jazz Chapter 4 will be released on March 24th. The album features Rick Braun, Norman Brown, Doc Gibbs and more!

Pre-order your 2-CD-set at

Jonathan Fritzén – Fritzenized

The level of awareness of pianist and keyboard player Jonathan Fritzén has increased rapidly in recent years. This is not only caused by his numerous spectacular performances but also by his albums Love Birds (2008), VIP (2009), Diamonds (2010) and Magical (2012).

With his new album Fritzenized (2015) Jonathan continues to his earlier successes. In addition to guest stars like Gerald Albright and Paul Taylor (sax), Nils Landgren (trombone) and singer Laila Adele, international top musicians participate in the recording such as Alex Al and Mel Brown (bass), Randy Jacobs (guitar), and others.

On the trace after the popular song Jonathan can cook it with Fingers on Fire. When the song picks up speed, he falls into staccato. It gets interesting. Euphoria is an excited state of joy, a good feeling, a state of intense happiness. The aptly title for this joyful melody featuring Paul Taylor on sax.

Read more …