Archive for October 18th, 2014

Mitch Shiner and the BloomingTones Big Band – Fly!

Fly! (Patois Records, 2014) is the startling debut of Mitch Shiner and the BloomingTones Big Band. The percussionist, composer and arranger is a protégé of trombonist Wayne Wallace and follows the trail blazed by other products of Indiana: Freddie Hubbard and Wes Montgomery among them.

Shiner was born in Milwaukee but received musical education in Indiana, where he also has performed with a variety of jazz ensembles.

The BloomingTones Big Band are: Amanda Gordier, alto and soprano saxophone, flute and alto flute; Adam Carrillo, alto and soprano saxophone, clarinet; Matt Roehrich, tenor saxophone, alto flute and clarinet; Alex Young, tenor saxophone and clarinet; Steven Banks, baritone saxophone and bass clarinet; Dan Coffman, lead trombone; John Sorsen and Stewart Rhodes, trombones; Wayne Wallace, trombone on two tracks; Brennan Johns, bass trombone; Jordan Ghaim, lead trumpet; Josiah Lamb and Lexie Signor, trumpets; Joe Anderson, flugelhorn, trumpet and electronic valve instrument; Pat Harbison, trumpet on two tracks; Matt Johnson, tuba on two tracks; Eric Dumouchelle and Torrey D’Angelo, tuba on “Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head”; Matt MacDougal, guitar; Richard Baskin, vocals on three tracks; Michael Spiro, vocals on “When You Wish Upon a Star”; Anna Butterss (three tracks), Rob Walker (five tracks) and Jeremy Allen (two tracks), bass and baby bass; John Weisinger, piano; Joe Galvin (two tracks), Kristin Olson (five tracks), Shiner (four tracks) and Spiro (“When You Wish Upon a Star”), percussion; Olson (four tracks) and Shiner (three tracks), vibraphone; and Ben Lumsdaine (“Watchful Eyes”), Josh Roberts (two tracks) and Shiner (six tracks), drum set.

Read more …