Archive for October 3rd, 2013

John Evans & Dream – Night Flower

Night Flower coverNight Flower”, all original Evans material, is in keeping with his penchant for idiomatic variety.  The music ranges from swaying and samba-like, to a bluesy, large horn section based tune, titled, “The Fatback Strut”, featuring Andy Timmons on electric guitar. “The Fatback Strut” is somewhat reminiscent of Evans’ “Creeper”, which he co-penned with David Sanborn. “Creeper” gained in popularity when it was chosen as the single from Sanborn’s “Hideaway” album. The title tune of Evans’ new album, “Night Flower”, is an ethereal ballad with an exquisitely sensitive performance by Ron Jones on soprano sax.

Personnel for the album include: John Evans (keyboards and electric bass), Ron Jones (soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxophones), Larry Spencer (flugelhorn and trumpet), Andy Timmons (electric guitar), Brady Mosher (electric and acoustic guitars), Johnny Hooper (acoustic guitar), Gene Glover (conga drums, timbales and percussion), Mike Collier (drums), Annagrey (vocalist), Rosana Eckert (vocalist), and Jennifer Perryman (vocalist).

“Night Flower” will be released on the Studio Records label and is going to be available from CD Baby, iTunes, and John Evans & Dream’s fourth album, “Night Flower”, is scheduled for an October 3, 2013 release.