Archive for June 15th, 2010

Airborne – New Horizons

New Haven based contemporary jazz group Airborne are founded by Gregory Borino (guitars, vocals), Thomas Sansone (sax, flute, vocals), Thomas Borino (piano, keyboards, organ, vocals). They constantly released albums since a long time. Take Off in 1990, followed by Across The Sky (1995), Lifetones (1999), Heavy Vibes (2004), Turbulence (2007), Winds of Change (2008) and this year New Horizons.

Their albums have often a motto and a special impetus. For example the group demands with Winds of Change common ground, solidarity and the willingness to make the world better. The new album New Horizons follows the same concept: “The music of Airborne reminds and encourages us that we can create a new world of peace. One world of people searching and waiting for a sunrise of happiness that’s just over the new horizons. ”

The album comes up with the mid-tempo Sunrise. Heavy like the mighty sun rises the wave of chords and melody. The Bossa Nova flavored Take Me Away attracts with a nice tune. Ornamented by Elisabeth Dellinger’s and Yvette Early’s vocals especially the acoustic guitar performance enjoys.

Read more …