Archive for March 12th, 2010

Lenny White – Anomaly

Following his triumphant worldwide reunion tour with Return To Forever in 2008 and separate trio tours in 2009 with Chick Corea and Stanley Clarke and pianist Hiromi with Clarke, Lenny White was primed to put out his own recording, his first as a leader in ten years. With Anomaly, the pioneering jazz-rock drummer returns to his roots, blending powerhouse backbeats and improvisational abandon in a bold, unapologetically aggressive manner that characterized the early 70s fusion movement.

“We need to restart a revolution so that we can take back the music and stop the fluff,” says White. “I’m hoping that this new album is a representation of that ideal.”

Accompanied by a crew of guitar killers in Jimmy Herring (Widespread Panic), Nick Moroch (a former member of White’s Astral Pirates), David Gilmore, Tom Guarna and David Bendeth, keyboardists George Colligan, Bernard Wright, Donald Blackman (another Astral Pirate ) and Vince Evans and bassists Victor Bailey, Richie Goods, Charles Fambrough and his RTF bandmate Stanley Clarke, White unleashes with Zeppelinesque fury on Anomaly, his tenth overall recording as a leader.

Largely self-taught on drums, native New Yorker White broke into the jazz world in 1968 with alto saxophonist Jackie McLean. The following year he participated in Miles Davis’ Bitches Brew, generally regarded as the album that birthed the fusion movement. He subsequently recorded with a Who’s Who in Jazz, including trumpeters Freddie Hubbard and Woody Shaw, tenor saxophonists Joe Henderson, Gato Barbieri and Stan Getz and renowned composer-bandleader Gil Evans, among others.
Continue reading

Rob Blaine – South Sea Princess

Rob Blaine has performed at numerous jazz venues in the Western Cape. As an accomplished pianist/keyboardist he has worked with artists Jimmy Dludlu and Judith Sepuma as well as many other local musicians and talented artists. In addition to performing, Rob is a music tutor, teaching keyboard instruments, guitar and digital recording from his own studio, Computer Music Tuition.

The Rob Blaine – Smooth Jazz quartet features some of Cape Town’s best session musicians coming together to perform Rob’s original compositions. Their sound is a combination of mellow yet up-tempo, lively and laid back, cool instrumental jazz. Rob has released two albums, Pure Intuition in 2001 and South Sea Princess in 2008.  All tracks on both albums are composed and performed by Rob and each album includes a vocal track sunk by well known Cape Town singers, Denay Willie and Abigail Petersen.

South Sea Princess is now on sale at CDBaby.