Archive for March 16th, 2012

Incognito – Surreal

I’ll nail my colours to the mast right away and say that I’m always excited to hear a new Incognito CD. Having been a fan since 1981 and having had the pleasure of interviewing leader Bluey a few years ago, my love of this band’s music shows no signs of waning.

So, it’s 2012 and instead of having a piece of vinyl to cherish, I have a download courtesy of Shanachie Records to carefully file and write about.

Let’s jump straight in and ride the incredible groove of ‘The Less you Know’. I don’t have musician credits but I don’t need them to recognise the silky, sexy voice of Maysa Leak and I don’t think she has ever sounded better. The production is flawless with lots of room for drums, bass, snazzy horns and that gorgeous vocal. The breakdown makes the hairs on my neck stand up! And when the JB-style snare snaps in to announce ‘Goodbye to Yesterday’ it’s clear that the dancing is set to continue. A male lead vocal, some sneaky rhythm guitar and some even sneakier horns and you’ve got a recipe for success.

Read more …

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,413 other followers