Archive for April 30th, 2011

Nelson Riveros – Camino Al Barrio

Nelson Riveros has just released his first CD titled Camino Al Barrio. It is a Contemporary-Jazz recording with diverse Latin influences. It features the talents pianist Hector Martignon (Ray Barreto, Gato Barbieri, Paquito D’Rivera), bassist Armando Gola (Arturo Sandoval, Alejandro Sanz) , Ernesto Simpson (Arturo Sandoval, Richard Bona) , Samuel Torres (Arturo Sandoval, Richard Bona, Tito Puente) . As well as special guests, Christos Rafalides on vibes and Andres Garcia on 12-string Colombian Tiple.

The reason that I wanted to record this CD came from my desire to have people listen to and experience the music that I had written throughout my time living in the different New York City boroughs’. I had played this music with many great musicians around the city. The final stops of my path were written in the last ‘hood’, which was East Harlem ‘El Barrio’. I heard many inspiring sounds in my 4 years living there, and for this reason I called this CD “Camino al Barrio”

Blue Cha-Cha was written while studying Jazz composition in college. It was based on Horace Silver’s music and has my Wes Montgomery influence. Los Primos is a combination of Contemporary style melody with a Bambuco rhythm from Colombia enhanced with the traditional Tiple which is a 12-string guitar. Camino Al Barrio, has a Bomba rhythm from Puerto Rico in the A section changing to a more Afro-Cuban vibe in the bridge. Mis Amores is a duo with vibraphonist Christos Rafalides. It was written for my wife and daughter. Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,415 other followers