Archive for July 11th, 2009

Alexander Zonjic – Doin’ The D

Five years after his previous album Seldom Blues (2004) is Alexander Zonjic back with his new album Doin’ The D. The title bases on a catchphrase, which means spending the weekend in Detroit and enjoying the rich cultural activity of the city. In a time of economic decline especially in the city of General Motors and Chrysler people need some cheering up and what can be a better medium than music.

So Alexander Zonjic assembled the who-is-who of contemporary jazz on his new album: Bob James, Jeff Lorber, Kenny G, Rick Braun, Chieli Minucci, Maysa Leak, Lenny Castro, Dwight Sills. These artists and many more followed Alexander’s call.

“Detroit and its people embraced me on a profound level many, many years ago, and they’re the main reason that I’ve had such a great career,” says Zonjic. “It’s one of the greatest music cities in the world. All you need to do is consider that Aretha Franklin still lives here after so many years. Eminem is here, Bob Seger is here, Mitch Ryder is here, Anita Baker, Kid Rock, and the list goes on. Obviously, the city is going through its share of tough times right now – like so many other cities. But I continue to appreciate everything “The D” has done for my career, and I will always support it.”

Top Down starts the album featuring master of the keys Jeff Lorber. Alexander comments: “I love how exposed the flute is on this track, as well as the classic Lorber vibe that comes through. This was one of the songs on this record that took me out of my comfort zone and into a new direction in terms of what I’m used to playing.”

Continue reading Alexander Zonjic – Doin’ The D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,380 other followers